DEV Community

Cover image for Why I Built a Vscode Extension
Gospel Lekia
Gospel Lekia

Posted on

Why I Built a Vscode Extension

A couple of times, we spend time tweaking VScode themes. It could be fun but sometimes tiring and time-consuming. I have travelled this road many times but went a little over the board this time, and why would I do that?

The need for a suitable theme

I have had the pleasure of using wonderful themes from Material theme to Monokai and on. I always wanted to change something in every theme, especially the colours to resonate with me and the comfort of my eyes.

A little adventure wouldn't hurt

During the close of the year, 2023 I decided to do something a little different from my usual development. I considered doing some design tasks, colour combinations and colour effects. It was nice to put it into practice.

The need to give back to the community

The tech community has always been awesome in open-source and sacrificial endeavours. Almost everyone has it in mind to give back to this wonderful community of love.

Final note

I enjoyed designing the theme. Some other time I will write about the process.
Thanks for reading and hope you enjoyed this episode 🙂. To install on Vscode, search for Dukana.
Or check the marketplace.
Be kind to support my endeavours.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

It would be great if you could share the process and the tech stack you followed. This information will be helpful for anyone interested in creating useful VSCode extensions.

Thanks!

Collapse
 
goslek profile image
Gospel Lekia

Thanks, @anmolbaranwal. I'm planning on doing that.

Collapse
 
dev_geos profile image
Dev Geos

Please share your worflow to do a vscode extention. maybe this could help me to make one for autocompletion

Collapse
 
goslek profile image
Gospel Lekia

Sure @dev_geos , this is on my table.

Collapse
 
dev_geos profile image
Dev Geos

Thanks my dear 👌

Collapse
 
jhoney124 profile image
jhoney124

Thanks!