DEV Community

Cover image for Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week
Gracie Gregory (she/her)
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Posted on

Top 5 DEV Comments from the Past Week

This is a weekly roundup of awesome DEV comments that you may have missed. You are welcome and encouraged to boost posts and comments yourself using the #bestofdev tag.


@nataliedeweerd provided some valuable food for thought in How to ask senior devs for help?:

How can I go about asking for help & to what extent should I ask for help? Is it normal for junior devs to asks programming or framework-related concepts to senior devs?

Yes :) Completely normal!

I would say, if you think you need help, stop and consider if you've researched every avenue. I prefer a junior dev coming to me and saying "I'm stuck on X, I've tried A, B, and C, but it hasn't worked" rather than just "I'm stuck on X". It shows initiative in them trying to learn and understand on their own, they've just hit a brick wall. The best way we can learn as developers is by doing. That also means failing, and doing the wrong thing.

If you're in an environment where you feel you can't ask for help, that's toxic. A good environment encourages questions, collaboration, and joint progress/learning. Our industry moves forward so quickly we can't keep up with everything at once.

@documentednerd helped us determine why this salary conundrum is unfair, in their opinion:

I would vote no, this is an unrealistic ask because to be honest. Studies show that most workers who work from home, give more hours to their job not less. And the employer gets to save money on building, power, internet, etc by having an employee work from home. So this means that they are seeing a bigger benefit to an employee working from home. Not saying that the employee doesn't benefit, but I don't feel its appropriate to ask for the employee to take a paycut when they stand to save money.

Congrats to @adrianbdesigns for an awesome win this past week:

Well it's more of a last week win, but I still want to share.

I've won an Egghead VSCode snippets hackathon! Second hackathon I've won this year!

@cchana shared why mentoring is so crucial in What is a Senior Developer Really?:

πŸ’― agree on mentoring. Enabling others is so important, your team/product may only be as strong as the β€œweakest” developer so Senior Devs can use their experience to bring up the skills of everyone else. That then means everyone is making better decisions and writing better code.

Ok, I can't resist a weekly win. Congrats on completing your first ever #Hacktoberfest, @saoskia!

Completing my first ever Hacktoberfest!

See you next week for more great comments ✌

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)
Collapse
 
adrianbdesigns profile image
Adrian Bece

Wow, thank you very much! What a wonderful surprise!

Collapse
 
cchana profile image
Charanjit Chana

πŸ₯³ wow! ☺️

Collapse
 
zimlearn profile image
Dr Abstract

Brand new to Dev - although I see I joined up a while back ;-). Here is some love for the community! dev.to/zimlearn/how-to-emit-love-483k. Cheers!

Collapse
 
adrianbdesigns profile image
Adrian Bece

@graciegregory is the badge underway or has this been changed recently? :D