DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Gracie Gregory (she/her)
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Posted on

What was your win this week?

šŸ‘‹šŸ‘‹šŸ‘‹šŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week ā€” what was something you're proud of?

All wins count ā€” big or small šŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy šŸ˜„

Have a great weekend!

Friday

Top comments (27)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Got some PRs merged into the protege.dev repository to speed up a page load and fixed some accessibility issues.

Feature/generate contributors json #115

Description

Implements #116.

With this PR, a contributors.json file is created at build time now (includes the OG contributors just like before).

When the Contributors page is accessed, instead of hitting the GitHub API to retrieve the contributors list, it will now be passed in as a prop to the ContributorsList component, i.e. <ContribtorsList contributors={contributors} />.

The result is a faster page load for the contributors page with no additional network requests.

Man sliding across the screen saying "Aww yeah!"

Bug/fix some a11y issues #121

Resolves all of #118.

These are all fixes caught by the Axe browser extension (Chrome | Firefox) used in conjunction with the Web AIM contrast checker.

Before

image

After

image

Before

image

After

image

Christopher Walken dancing with a hallway broom

Feel free to suggest better colours. These are the ones I came up with as soon as the Web AIM contrast checker gave me all passes.

Fixed issue where additional contributor info was missing in profile. #129

In my previous work in #115, I created a regression. There was missing contributor profile information with my change. This fixes that. TLDR, the additional profile info was not being pulled properly.

Before

image

After

image

Chris Pratt in Parks and Recreation making faces that indicate oops

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

YEAH you did! Nice work!

Collapse
 
rafifos profile image
Rafael Julio

I've completed 1 year on my first job.

Collapse
 
techwithtris profile image
Beatrice

Happy work anniversary! What's your favorite achievement so far?

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
dailydevtips1 profile image
Chris Bongers

My biggest win,

  • Getting a new job! I was looking for a while, but signed a contract this week! Can't wait till i can get started.
Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

CONGRATS!!

Collapse
 
coteh profile image
James Cote • Edited

Published my first post on DEV: dev.to/coteh/dead-simple-oauth-nho

I've been wanting to blog for a while now but didn't really know what to write about. I finally went ahead and made a small post about something cool I was learning about, and got 4 reactions and 20+ LinkedIn likes. I am looking forward to writing more articles about things I'm learning about! :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Congrats on your first post!

1st place in Mariokart

Collapse
 
hedyhli profile image
hedy

My first post on DEV šŸŽ‰ Control the Probability of This GitHub Action from Passing/Failing. Which happens to be my first github action. Cooked it up few days ago to play around with with what I can do with github actions in JavaScript, it was a really fun experience and learned so much! šŸ˜

Collapse
 
techwithtris profile image
Beatrice

I picked up Webflow and made my first site/template!
simple-app-feature.webflow.io

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Gym teacher from Glee saying amazing!

Collapse
 
lawrey profile image
Lawrence Tan šŸ‡øšŸ‡¬

My biggest win is I officially finished my last day at my current company. Had many phygital (physical + digital) farewell lunches and my ex-colleagues all celebrated my move to my new job. Thankfully all ended not just in a good note, but on a high note!

Collapse
 
rahul_ramfort profile image
Rahul

Got 1k+ views for one of my posts here for the first time šŸ˜‡

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Bobby Moynahan character from SNL saying awesome!

Collapse
 
monchoz profile image
Ramon Zuniga

Got my first Holo App up and running! Holo is a new technology about distributed applications

holo.host

Collapse
 
techwithtris profile image
Beatrice

Ooh very cool! Thanks for sharing, that's something new for me to learn today. What's your app?

Collapse
 
monchoz profile image
Ramon Zuniga

It's just an UI with CRUD features on a dataset, kind of like the Django admin. I'm still learning on Holo, it's very new but you should definitely check it out, it's looks like a big deal šŸ˜Š

Collapse
 
jkyereh profile image
Josh Darling

I'm working on a project from The Odin Project in Rails, its been great and fun so far. I got stuck somewhere due to a simple typo... had to take time to figure it out with help from the online community as well.....
It felt soo good once I had it sorted out

Collapse
 
anduser96 profile image
Andrei Gatej

I finally finished and deployed my portfolio website: andreigatej.dev/ šŸ˜Ž

Collapse
 
greeder59 profile image
Gordon Reeder

Does still being alive count?
Well, actually, finding this site is a cool win.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Both count in my book šŸ˜…

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edAā€‘qa mortā€‘oraā€‘y

I've added several new features to my game engine for Edaqa's Room. Alas, I've yet to find a good way to demo them without revealing all the puzzles.

Collapse
 
noelie_roux profile image
Noƫlie

I earn new customers for Koala !
meetkoala.netlify.app/

Collapse
 
adriangrigore profile image
Adrian Emil Grigore • Edited

Getting mkws.sh on staticgen.com. Didn't know it was just a pull request away tho.