DEV Community

Cover image for I'm a CTO!
Graham Morby
Graham Morby

Posted on

I'm a CTO!

Welcome to my journal, it's going to be a weekly blog about my journey into becoming a CTO.

Graham Morby CTO

So something crazy cool happened! I'm a CTO! It's insane.

I'm not even sure how it happened or why but it has. It's a very scary thought to think I have topped out in my career. I mean where do I even start, how to I switch my brain from developer to manager, where do I start with recruitment. How on earth do I manage a team?

The above thoughts have gone through my head in the last week and a half leading up to my first day. Even the drive to the office yesterday, my head was wracked full of various thoughts and ideas as to why this was a crazy bad idea! I mean I programme things, why on earth should I manage people!

I guess I'll be here to let you know how that goes over the coming weeks and months.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

Congratulations :) Looking forward to reading more... Development careers seem full of opportunities for impostor syndrome! Becoming a CTO directly from a development role is a good step though, worked for me.

Collapse
 
jakerich1 profile image
Jake Riches

Congrats!

Collapse
 
catevee profile image
Cate

Congrats and all the best at your new role.

Collapse
 
pranjaljain0 profile image
Pranjal Jain

Hire Me xD 😝

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Major congrats, Graham! So awesome to hear this and wishing ya the best in your new position.

Collapse
 
grahammorby profile image
Graham Morby

Thank you Michael!!

Collapse
 
xtrasmal profile image
Xander

Whenever I read CTO, I think "Chief Toilet Officer"

Collapse
 
grahammorby profile image
Graham Morby

I would feel more comfortable as a Chief Toilet Officer!!

Collapse
 
xtrasmal profile image
Xander

No worries. I have a feeling you'll be doing great.
Best of luck, @grahammorby !

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

In my last gig I turned up at the company HQ and found that as well as managing a large dev team, I was also responsible for the soap dispensers in all the toilets - so yeah that probably WAS the meaning of my job title there lol.

Collapse
 
h_sifat profile image
Muhammad Sifat Hossain

@Xander don't be like that!

Collapse
 
xtrasmal profile image
Xander

:D a little bit of lol is ok

Collapse
 
phlash profile image
Phil Ashby

Nice! We're gonna need some back story for this sir 😁

Collapse
 
grahammorby profile image
Graham Morby

Back story will come in the coming blogs!

Collapse
 
aliibrahim94 profile image
Ali ibrahim

Congrats and all the best