DEV Community

Gregory Gaines
Gregory Gaines

Posted on

Extract Icons From Your Childhood Nintendo DS Games

Demo Screenshot

Demo

Source

Intro

I remember playing pokemon and kingdom hearts on my NDS and remember staring at that tiny icon every-time I start the console.

I thought to myself, I wonder can I extract these icons and save them. They could make for a cool ascetic for a profile picture.

Tech Overview

Website is a simple react site.

The icon is extracted by reading the ROM memory location of the icon bitmap which is defined at address ROM[0x68] + 0x20 and 0x200 in length.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
techtoroms profile image
Techtoroms

I really like this game. It brings back my childhood memories. You can download this game here: techtoroms.com/

Collapse
 
josephmcfarland878 profile image
josephmcfarland878

thanks for the download tip. I experienced the same emotions. I downloaded them here roms-download.com/roms/nintendo-wii