DEV Community

Cover image for Money Mule Huge Scam Targeting Web developers and freelancers!!
Grigore
Grigore

Posted on • Updated on

Money Mule Huge Scam Targeting Web developers and freelancers!!

Be aware developers this is serious and they can target you next.

It all started two weeks ago when a person named "Bill Cook" contacted me via Facebook saying that their new charity organization need a website and asked me to send an estimate.That is what I did next day.

Scammers know their job and they do it very professionally giving a lot of details about design and functionality they need.
Alt Text
After few days I received the check in the mail but it was not for the amount i have estimated this project,instead three times more,it followed by couple emails.
Alt Text
Well who does not make mistakes? everyone right ? especially when it comes to a 75 years old man.
The check looked real to me so I deposited it in my acc check looked real to the bank too because i had the funds available next day.
They provided the name and address for their private consultant i wrote a check for the remaining amount and i was ready to sent it out but the right next email they sent me stopped me. It stopped me because they asked for cash only no check no money order nothing but cash.I said no to myself that will not happen i can not send cash money via fedex.I have send them back couple emails to provide more info about the project and there was no answer.You probably will say, it was obvious,agree it was obvious for me too but a lot of people can fall for it and lose their hard earned money.
Bank told me is not a real check but the funds are in my acc after three days depositing it online.Their security issue make this criminals real.

Top comments (0)