DEV Community

Wilson Oguchi
Wilson Oguchi

Posted on

My To-do list app

Hi everyone, I'm new to the developers community, I just started learning web development, and hope to build mobile apps someday.
This is my first project after reading several posts and watching tutorial videos.

https://oguchiw.github.io/to-do-list/

I had to piece together knowledge from several videos and addition to Posts from stack overflow to achieve this, I did congratulate myself for this.
However I need help to figure out a few more things I'll love to add on this project because I'm really excited about what I have done.
Firstly how to output the users entry as an alert statement, so I can notify them when they want to delete or mark an entry off the list.
Secondly maybe how to undo a deleted entry.
I tried to hold the entries in an array but didn't know what else to do.
Please share your thoughts on the project, as well as how I can achieve what I envision. Mind you I'm still a learner so please an easy explanation would be really helpful.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
dayesouza profile image
Day Souza • Edited

That is cool Wilson! It is always amazing to learn new stuff.

A simple thing that you could do is just ask the user if he is sure he wants to delete an item.
At the delete function, you can store the result of a confirm (it's already from Javascript, it will appear as a confirm box on the browser) and just continue with the deletion if the result is true, like this:

var sure = confirm("Are you sure you want to delete?");
if (sure) {
//continue with delete code
}

And this project it's a great starter! Congrats!

Collapse
 
gucciwillz profile image
Wilson Oguchi

Thanks, this works very well.