DEV Community

Guido Zambarda
Guido Zambarda

Posted on • Originally published at iamguidozam.blog on

Failed to sync solution to teams

Some time ago I updated my SPFx sppkg file and as usual deployed it in my SharePoint app catalog, replaced the old version and when I hit the “Sync to Teams” button this showed up:

Panic!

Did I change something the wrong way? What did I do wrong? Why was the sync working before and not anymore?

Tracing the call I discovered that it simply resulted in a 400 bad request…so helpful isn’t it?

After searching the internet for some hint of how to solve my problem I discovered a useful tool inside the Teams dev site:

https://dev.teams.microsoft.com/validation

As the link content suggest it validates your Teams application zip file and gives you useful information.

In my case I discovered that what was preventing me to synchronize my package were two different problems in my Teams manifest file:

  • The privacy URL
  • The app version

My privacy URL was starting with HTTP instead of HTTPS, in fact the validation tool gave this back to me:

The app version was starting with 0, the validation error was:

To wrap it up remember a couple of things: use the tools provided, use HTTPS and remember that the app version should not start with ‘0’!

Hope that helps!

Top comments (0)