DEV Community

Hardus1
Hardus1

Posted on

I have a project idea, need a little advice.

Hello everyone,,
I am looking for project ideas to learn how to really apply what I’m learning. I am following theodinproject right now at home and having something separate to work on at work in my free time would help me cement a bit of my learning.

My idea is to create an ikea catalogue type of assembly procedure. A home screen that tells about what I am constructed in. A navbar that has say 8 sections each opening in a new tab or completely changing the page I am on and each page having a image larger than the rest of what is being assembled and beside it hardware parts and steps etc. maybe small boxes and lines showing what goes where or possibly room for sketches. Also I don’t know how to go about showing friends, posting online somehow using a flash drive etc. I don’t have to actually put words just filler text and photos are fine with me.
https://reversephonelookup.onl/ https://curated.onl/nba-reddit/ https://pcbuilder.onl/pcpartpicker/
Is this something doable for a beginner? Will this require more than I would even use for full stack? Would this be a huge waste of time or potentially help me learn?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
ashoutinthevoid profile image
Full Name

You will almost always learn something by building things. It's not a complete waste of time in that sense.

A better question, I think, would be 'what is my learning objective and is this task the most efficient way to reach it?'. You'll get value either way, but ideally you want to maximize value for the time spent.

So if the project is purely/primarily for learning, identify a concrete goal and select a project that provides deliberate practice targeted at that goal.