DEV Community

Hardus1
Hardus1

Posted on

Is it just me does anyone else feel that javascript world has gone crazy?

Hello everyone,,
To begin with, there are so many js frameworks out there that's enough to intimidate a newbie who wants to learn "just javascript". Things in js world change so fast that we can barely keep up. I'm so thankful that I got a job as a python developer. But, when i was searching for jobs, I spent time learning reactjs. Then, I realized not everything can be done through react easily. So, I transitioned to angularjs. I had to learn nodejs and typescript too. This was back in 2017. Now, I look back through my udemy courses and a major portion of reactjs have got updated and there's again a learning curve.
https://trackeasy.fun/usps/ https://showbox.tools/

Why is this ? Or is it me who's making a big deal out of this. If so, how do javascript developer keep up with things changing so fast?

Please give me your feedbacks

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt • Edited

Yes, you should try Vanilla JS with no framework. In fact, no NPM installs as well.

However, newer vanilla JS things like customElement is truly godsend. I also like Babel, Rollup and the concept of Snowpack. (I think Webpack and Parcel just muffle the code too much.)

Indeed, regarding jobs, I think JS world is crazy, React is everywhere. Just like Python, Django is everywhere. I have never come to like Django BTW. Flask is so simple that I like it.

Collapse
 
ashoutinthevoid profile image
Full Name • Edited

The title "gone crazy" gives the impression that the js world was different at some point. I can't say I agree with that.

Learning "just JavaScript" to me would mean the language free of any framework. If you're learning vanilla js, there is no reason for frameworks to intimidate you. The language evolves, so even with vanilla JS there is change to deal with.

This isn't unique to JS. Modern C++ is quite a bit different than what I learned as a teenager. Modern Java has added all sorts of things (lambdas, functional interfaces, and plenty of more interesting things) since I first encountered the language.

There are quite a few software engineering fundamentals that remain applicable across these changes. Learning how to evaluate a framework, when and why you might adopt one, and how to efficiently learn what you need from it is a set of skills I think any professional in this industry should develop. It is not unique to JS.

Learning is a fundamental skill in software development. The more you improve that skill, the less intimidating new things become.

I also think there is a point to be made about the difference between the deluge of hot new frameworks on all of our favorite industry news platforms, and the tendency for real world projects to be built primarily on battle tested well known technologies (at least in my corner of the world).

New isn't always better. You don't need to learn every detail of every new thing. Build working, tested software; your users and clients will care deeply about what your software does, not how buzzworthy the underlying framework is.