DEV Community

Cover image for Creating Transferrable Knowledge
Heinek Halwin
Heinek Halwin

Posted on • Updated on

Creating Transferrable Knowledge

Hi everyone !
I am a Full stack developer usually working with python django or javascript frameworks such as react or next. And recently I had to work with Kotlin Android to create a project for my university.

Usually, the way I work with a new project is, I put my hours in, I learn the programming language, go through the best practices, watch tutorials, read posts here on DEV ;) and so on. But in this project, I had to dive right in because of time constraints and I imagined I might bump into problems or that it would be a disaster. But instead it went pretty well and I realised I had transferrable knowledge.

What i mean by transferrable knowledge is the ability to identify and use programming concepts across all languages and frameworks. Because underneath all the bells and whistles of each language, they all follow mostly the same programming paradigms and concepts.

Which brings me to next point, how to create transferrable knowledge.

*Firstly and lastly, Learn programming concepts. *

Yes, learn programming concepts! From concepts small as datatypes, data structures, conditional statements, looping statements to concepts vital such as exception handling etc. Also for bonus points, you can learn about Functional programming concepts such as currying, pure functions etc. Same goes for object oriented programming concepts.

Now that you have learned the concepts. You can choose a language to work on your side hustle. Here, you can break down the logic in terms of the concepts you have learned, then you can refer the documentation or tutorials for the syntax to code through the logic of your application and in a few hours, you would be working through the syntax as if it were second nature.

Congrats ! You have now started with creating your transferrable knowledge.

Have you experienced and used this in your career ? Let me know in the comments if you have.

Top comments (0)