DEV Community

Hazim J
Hazim J

Posted on

I built a data platform to make finding datasets more accessible for everyone

Link: https://stackup.sh/

Tl;dr: I started a project to try and make large, clean, and reliable datasets easier for anyone to share for free or through a monthly subscription.

Alt Text

Why build this?

There's no doubt that there is a lot of value in structured data, especially in large quantities. But finding the correct datasets you need can usually be pretty tough and sometimes a bit messy. We also hear a lot about how tech giants gain so much value from data science because of the sheer amount of data they have control over.

So I decided to build stackup.sh to try and solve these problems:

  1. Make the user experience of finding a good dataset as simple as possible.
  2. By making data more accessible this can hopefully make the value of data science more available to anyone.

What's next?

Right now the platform only has a single dataset available for tech news articles. I've used this to build a separate news feed for myself and also to learn some NLP algorithms. It's available for free and is updated every 30 minutes with new articles from a bunch of popular tech sources.

Over the next few weeks, I'll be sharing some more datasets I'm planning on using in other projects. If anyone is interested in helping me build out this platform by sharing their own data or requesting something they need, let me know!

Top comments (0)