DEV Community

Heidi Fryzell
Heidi Fryzell

Posted on

Hello World - Day 1

I haven't committed to GitHub in a few months as I started a new job, not a coding job. My goal in the new year is to practice coding as much as possible. I am hoping if I document my progress here it will keep me honest.

Today I created a new repo on GitHub and connected it to my local repo.

Created repo on GitHub

  • Created local repo and navigated to it with command line

  • Initialized repo

git init
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Created a local index.html file

  • Initial Local Commit

git add .
git commit -m "first commit"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Linked local repo to GitHub repo
echo "# dev-playground" >> README.md
git init
git add README.md
git commit -m "first commit"
git branch -M main
git remote add origin git@github.com:heidi37/dev-playground.git
git push -u origin main
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Made a small change to the HTML

  • Checked git status

git status
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Add changed files to commit
git add .
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Commit file locally
git commit -m "added <p> to home page"
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Push local changes to GitHub
git push origin main
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
  • Made GitHub page public

Repo > Settings > Pages

Select Branch (in this case I'm only using 'Main')

Click Save

Image description

https://heidi37.github.io/dev-playground/

The page will evolve so for posterity:

Image description

Top comments (0)