DEV Community

Brandon Allmark
Brandon Allmark

Posted on • Updated on

Cloud Resume Challenge pt 1: Introduction

What is it?

The Cloud Resume Challenge is a 16 step project designed to showcase the skills one develops while performing the steps necessary to upload their resume to the cloud as an HTML document. Choosing to upload a resume is actually optional and the challenge can be completed with any static website that you want. It's a neat challenge because it's one of those projects where the value really comes from the journey and not so much the destination. By the end you get a nifty website and something to talk about in interviews or the people you work with.

Azure Cloud Resume Challenge Steps:

  1. Certification - Minimum AZ-900 - already done.
  2. HTML - Your resume needs to be written in HTML.
  3. CSS - It needs to be styled with CSS.
  4. Static Website - It should be deployed online as a static website.
  5. HTTPS - It should be protected by HTTPS.
  6. DNS - You should have a custom domain name for your website.
  7. JavaScript - Your Page should contain a visitor counter.
  8. Database - Your Visitor Counter should store its data within a database.
  9. API - Create an API as a middle man between your website and database.
  10. Python - Include python code in a function of some sort.
  11. Tests - Include tests for your python code.
  12. Infrastructure as Code - Deploy the necessary resources via code, not ClickOps.
  13. Source Control - Have a GitHub for your code.
  14. Backend CI/CD - Automatically deploy your resources or Python via GitHub Actions.
  15. Frontend CI/CD - Automatically deploy changes to your website via GitHub Actions.
  16. Blog Post - This.

Why did I start?

To be blunt: Because the company I work for, Telstra, is doing a large round of layoffs. In May, 400 people were advised that they were losing their job, some of them I knew. In Mid-July, which is next week at the time of writing this, another 2400.

There's no sugar coating it, layoffs are rough. It's a difficult time for all those involved as for a period of a few months, you never know what your future may hold. As I've now experienced this twice at Telstra, I've come to know that people react differently to the anxiety that these times present. Some people choose to stick their heads down and get on with it, others seek out the company mental health support but unfortunately those two perfectly valid responses never really help me feel better.

As a Consultant, I've always viewed myself more as a Problem Solver rather than an IT Guy and when presented with issues, my brain automatically goes into "fix it" mode… much to the chagrin my wife. So when presented with this issue - the fact that I may be job seeking in a couple months, that's exactly what happened. My brain went into "fix it" mode.

Cheesy movie quote
I know its cheesy but this is what came to mind when I was presented with potential job loss.

So in this situation what did it mean to me to get to work?

Given it was early days and the announcement had just been made a few days prior, I outlined a simple list of tasks for me to complete as soon as possible to get an idea of where I stand:
1. Update LinkedIn
2. Update Resume
3. Import the above into my internal company profile
4. Apply for 20 jobs on Seek and see what bites I get.

Step 4 is where I got stuck. I realised I was in an awkward position because my preference was to stay at Telstra and I felt bad about wasting people's time.

Why is my preference to stay with Telstra, why don't I just leave?

I often get asked this question from family, friends and previous colleagues. To them, it seemed reckless to stay with a company that goes through two layoffs in two years. The reason I stay is because:

  1. Telstra gives me reason to stay.
  2. I genuinely care about the guys I work with and I love how smart they are.
  3. I like my clients as people and respect them as professionals.
  4. I use professional development to mitigate the anxiety of possible redundancy and I actually don't mind that.

Point 4 is what made me pivot. If I felt a bit awkward about applying for jobs when I had no intention to leave my existing one, then the next best option was to make myself as an attractive candidate as possible should I be force to.

Which led me to this challenge.

I chose this because I liked the learning philosophy - baptism by fire. I never really got a lot out of doing labs where everything 'just worked' and so a challenge that doesn't hold your hand but at the same time gives you space to be creative, was perfect for me.

And so I updated the focus on my whiteboard and it was time to begin.

Whiteboard

Top comments (0)