DEV Community

Cover image for Week 4 Recap of #100DaysOfCode: From Creative CSS to JavaScript Adventures 🚀
heritech9
heritech9

Posted on

Week 4 Recap of #100DaysOfCode: From Creative CSS to JavaScript Adventures 🚀

As I wrap up Week 4 of my #100DaysOfCode challenge, it’s been a transformative journey filled with creativity, technical growth, and overcoming hurdles. From building interactive scenes with CSS to diving into JavaScript, I’ve encountered both challenges and triumphs that are shaping me into a more confident coder.


Day 23: Reflecting on the Journey So Far 🎉

This week started with a review of my recent projects. I worked on a range of interactive and visually engaging projects—building a piano 🎹, a Ferris wheel 🎡, and a cityscape 🏙️, each pushing my limits with HTML, CSS, and responsiveness. Working on layout adjustments, colors, and animation made each project unique. The biggest challenge was nailing responsiveness across devices, but I’ve found immense satisfaction in seeing these projects come together smoothly on any screen size. Reflecting on this day reminded me of how far I've come and motivated me to tackle new challenges with a fresh perspective.


Day 24: A Waving Penguin Scene 🐧

Creating an interactive penguin scene was both fun and educational! This project taught me more about CSS positioning, gradients, and animations. I loved experimenting with custom properties, and the biggest highlight was making the penguin wave and grow in size when clicked. CSS animations can seem daunting, but breaking down each effect (like movement and scaling) helped me approach animations with a plan. Learning how to balance visual effects with responsiveness also built on what I practiced earlier this week.


Day 25: Building My Personal Portfolio 💼

Building a personal portfolio was a major milestone. Inspired by the design tips from freeCodeCamp, I focused on layout balance, color schemes, and content flow. This project took time, and challenges included maintaining responsive layouts while showcasing different sections effectively. Working on design consistency was also key. Despite these hurdles, I’m proud of the outcome and excited to share this portfolio as I continue my coding journey.


Day 26: Revisiting CSS Fundamentals 📝

I spent this day reinforcing CSS concepts using resources like W3Schools and reviewing notes on past projects. Wrapping up CSS gave me a sense of accomplishment as I prepare to tackle JavaScript in-depth. Revisiting topics like positioning, flexbox, and grid was a great way to fill in knowledge gaps, and I took time to jot down reflections on what I learned from my recent projects.


Day 27: My First Steps with JavaScript 🖥️

This day marked my official start in JavaScript! After only a few hours, I felt energized by how powerful JavaScript can be. I covered fundamental concepts like variables, data types, and simple functions. Getting a grasp on JavaScript’s syntax and logic was exciting, and I’m looking forward to taking these fundamentals further. Although it’s only the beginning, I’m thrilled to see where this new language will take me.


Day 28: Building a Pyramid Generator 🏗️

With the basics in hand, I jumped into building a Pyramid Generator to deepen my understanding. The biggest challenges were mastering loops, functions, and handling strings for each row. This project underscored the importance of arrays, conditions, and loops. Using for loops to generate patterns taught me the real power of dynamic coding, and I’m grateful for the learning experience.


Day 29: Building a Passenger Counter App 🧮

Starting the Passenger Counter App was a great way to explore DOM manipulation and user interaction with JavaScript. I learned about handling events (like button clicks) and dynamically updating the UI. Working with DOM elements to update the passenger count and save entries made me appreciate JavaScript’s flexibility in creating interactive web experiences. Although I’m still refining the logic, the project has reinforced my skills in handling user input and updating the interface on-the-go.


Final Thoughts on Week 4

Week 4 has been both challenging and deeply rewarding. Transitioning from CSS projects into JavaScript has broadened my perspective on web development. I’m excited to take the lessons from these projects forward as I continue to grow my skills and tackle new projects in the coming days. The journey isn’t easy, but each day adds something valuable to my toolkit. Here’s to the coming weeks of learning and building!


You can follow my journey on Twitter @Toptech5419 and check out my progress on GitHub: 100 Days of Code Repository. Looking forward to building on these skills and tackling more JS projects in week 5! 💪

Stay tuned for more updates as I dive deeper into JavaScript and beyond!

Top comments (0)