DEV Community

Cover image for What are your "must reads" for programming beginners?
Nočnica Mellifera for Heroku

Posted on

What are your "must reads" for programming beginners?

We all start somewhere. What was the most useful thing you read when you were just starting out?

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
jessica_veit profile image
Jessica Veit • Edited

My absolute favourite: Clean Code by Robert C. Martin (maybe also Clean Architecture after a some practice ;))

I did stumble upon this book rather late in my career, but it finally put everything I somehow knew at this point into words, made it tangible for me.

On top of being informative, it is also very well written with lots of
examples and comparisons. It really shows you what to focus on and makes you aware of small things, which - in the long run - make a huge difference!

Collapse
 
yjdoc2 profile image
YJDoc2

The Art of readable code by Dustin boswell and Trevor Foucher is also a great book for learning clean coding practices.
Even though it doesn't go in depth as much as clean code, in my opinion it's beginner friendly, as well as shows examples in multiple languages with nice humor 😄

Collapse
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

I need to check this out!

Collapse
 
kimberleejohnson profile image
Kimberlee Johnson

I recently found Jon Duckett's "Intro to HTML and CSS" in a free books pile, and I'm so glad I picked it up! I wish I had found it years ago. The visualizations are beautiful, especially the one about how the internet works.

It looks like there's a free PDF online: wtf.tw/ref/duckett.pdf

Collapse
 
garwin4j profile image
Garwin Pryce

I ask all my team members to read "Think like a programmer". A retainer on problem solving for new developers.

( You can get it in a book bundle for 1 dollar right now: humblebundle.com/books/learn-to-co...)

Collapse
 
chethanagopinath profile image
Chethana Gopinath • Edited

This amazing article on algorithmic complexity analysis - discrete.gr/complexity/
And I read this about 10 months ago. Should have read it long long ago.

Collapse
 
learnwithparam profile image
Paramanantham Harrison

Recently I read JavaScript everywhere book. If you already know the concepts of application development and want to get the glimpse of real app development, this book will be a great start.