DEV Community

Heval Hazal Kurt
Heval Hazal Kurt

Posted on

I am also a professional filmmaker, you can Ask Me Anything about filmmaking and videomaking!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
katiekodes profile image
Katie

What are nice "granny" tools that are available for Windows?

I'd like to do some simple recording of myself with a smartphone and a tripod, dump it to disk, and cut and splice things together, without having to get in too deep.

Just something so I can make a little video explaining some things I learned at a workshop without having to get my "lines" perfect in one single-shot take.

Collapse
 
hevalhazalkurt profile image
Heval Hazal Kurt

If you are to publish these videos on Youtube, it has own editing interface, you can use it very easily for simple tasks.

If you want to do it on your computer, the most granny but simple program is iMovie. You can also check out ApowerEdit, VSDC Free Video Editor, Rocketium and Filmora. These are enough for you now, but if you want more in the future, you can use Adobe Premiere Pro or Avid.

Collapse
 
melindawong profile image
MelindaWong • Edited

Sorry for the late reply, but I’m glad to hear that you're willing to share your expertise. I've been dabbling in filmmaking myself and have so many questions. If you don't mind, I'd love to pick your brain on a few things. How did you get started in this exciting field? Any tips for someone looking to improve their storytelling skills? Also, I’d like to share that, I recently stumbled upon an international film school at this resource praguefilminstitute.cz. They offer courses that can seriously boost our skills and knowledge in this field. I'm actually planning to take one of their courses soon to further develop my filmmaking skills. Thought it might be useful for you too!

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

What similarities do you find between film making and coding?

Collapse
 
shebacodes profile image
shebacodes

I would like to know about this as well. I work as an editor and have also found some cross overs with UX

Collapse
 
stel profile image
St3l

What is your favorite movie ? (and why ?) ;)