DEV Community

Cover image for Working together in Open Source Projects
Emily
Emily

Posted on

Working together in Open Source Projects

The start

After finishing the features of my command line application tool shinny-ssg, I was working with Diana to cross-check the source code of our projects. In general, we have to check for bugs, suggest improvement, and file issues on Github.
We both use C# and .NetCore 3.1 to create the projects and therefore, the experience was quite exciting and I definitely learned a lot.
It is just a pleasure to work with Diana. I have known her previously from my database and web classese and knew that she is such a hard working and bright girl. In addition, Diana worked at the company which I am now doing the internship at. She has used C# for a long time and have great knowledge about it. This was very evident from her code.

The Process

I tested her application glazed-donut with all test cases and her code nailed it. All the features worked as expected and it generated appropriate messages to the users when there were any errors/exception. The only problem I could find about it is in generateHTML method , which she should have replaced the <br\> with white space. Other than that, just a few minor typos on the read me file, but nothing major.
When she reviewed my code and tested my app, I appreciated that she really spent the time to check every detail, giving me very sound advice and helped me file bugs which I did not find before.
First, she mentioned the naming convention in C# and explained in details the good practices in the industry. Second, she found a bug in my Page class which created an extra <head> </head> tag. Third, my exception handling was not good enough and she guided me to make it better.
In the end, I am able to fix most of the issues but I need more time to improve the code and make it flawless.

Final Thought

I really appreciated Diana for reviewing my code so thoroughly. I found that testing and reviewing code is great way to learn and improve your knowledge/code design.
Thank you :)

Top comments (0)