DEV Community

Kofi A.
Kofi A.

Posted on

The Journey so far 5 months after I switched!

A few months back, i wrote a blog post that got more attention than i thought it would. You can read more about it here.

So it's been close to 5 months since i left my old job. This blogpost to give an update on the previous one.

How do i feel?

The transition hasn't been that easy. Before i started this internship, i was improving my skills and acquiring more knowledge about what i foresaw as my dream career. My stack before i left my old job was HTML, CSS, PHP, and some WordPress knowledge. Before the interview, I was improving my laravel knowledge and getting into javascript. My goal is to become more versed in javascript (vue js) and laravel.

What about work?

The internship has been good. Every project brought up new challenges. The first 2 projects got me writing a lot of javascript ( vanilla & Jquery) as well as using bootstrap which i was familiar with. Then came along building landing pages and testing my responsive skills ( which needs a lot of improvement). Lately, I've been wondering how people structure their responsive styles? mobile-first? widescreen first? Would absolutely love some pointers on that. Anyways, i still have a lot to learn but so far so good, and can't wait to acquire more knowledge and experience in the coming months.

What's next?

I have a personal manifesto for 2020 that i hope to tick all the boxes by the end of the year. This manifesto includes learning vue js, getting deeper into laravel and improving my cms skills, as well as taking my side project edwuma.work to another level. I acquired a few courses to guide me through my map. I also want to start meditating to weed out distractions and improve my productivity.

So that's all the update for now. Stay safe and take care.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
iamkarsoft profile image
Kofi A.

Thank you for your insight and will try your suggestions too. Deeply appreciated Mikael .