DEV Community

Ibtesum Reza Aninda
Ibtesum Reza Aninda

Posted on

Expectation vs Reality of a Beginner in Programming

Image description

In this article, I discussed what a self-taught programmer expects and how reality hits him/her with, um, "reality".
(Based on true story)

At the dawn of time:

Expectation

Oh I just need to learn HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. Many people got job offers because of these skills.

Reality

Where is the end of JavaScript? Why does this language keep introducing new concepts? Why every new concept is better than the previous one? No problem, I will learn it all!

A few months later:

Expectation

Oh! Now I can apply for jobs!

Reality

All the job circulars are expecting a candidate who knows React, Vue or Angular.

Realization: JS is not enough. I also need to learn React. Let's start learning it. I will learn it within one month.

One month later:

Expectation

Oh! I know everything about React.

Reality

Wait! What? So many new features are introduced! But the YouTube tutorial said it covered everything about React! What the hell is happening? What? This tutorial was uploaded 2 years ago. Why does the tech world change so faaaaast?

A few months later:

Expectation

Now I know everything about React. Nobody can beat me on skills.

Reality

I need to know some backend skills too. Okay! I will learn some Node and Express!

A few months later:

Expectation

There! This is it. Now I am a complete person! I am an ocean of knowledge!

Reality

Why are people talking about TypeScript? It's a superset of JS?? Seriously? JavaScript again?? What kind of infinite loop is this JS? Where does it end?

After a few days:

Expectation

Yeah! I am a genius! I know TypeScript! Maybe this is the end!

Reality

Enters Next.js! Enters Redux! Enters Redux-toolkit! Enters SQL! Enters Prisma! Enters…

After a few months:

Wisdom : Okay. I understand it now. This is a career of eternal learning. I will never be a complete know-it-all! I will keep learning, and most importantly, I will help others learn.

Legendary programmer John Carmack once said,

You can't learn everything. But you have to convince yourself that you can learn anything.

Top comments (0)