DEV Community

Elena
Elena

Posted on

Nevertheless, Elena Coded

I wrote the first #shecoded post in 2018, and I liked the opportunity to share, so I'm sharing again.

I continued to code in 2019 because...

2019 is my 11th year of coding professionally.
During these years, I did a lot! I built large systems from scratch, and small ones, done bugfixing in huge codebases almost my age, collected user requirements, argued with users:), wrote automated tests, didn't test enough and broke things, added monitoring, broke monitoring, mentored colleagues, grew junior developers, advocated for minorities in tech, led training, led teams, led projects,
became a manager, then a developer again, then a manager, than a developer, built products alone and in a team, built and launched my own projects and charged for them.

I worked on products which a small number of users uses 24/7 and which millions of users use every day. Enterprise, e-commerce, SaaS and smartphone apps.

I continue to code because I like how I can create a product out of nothing. It costs me almost nothing, and I can do it alone, but hundreds, thousands, millions of people will find it useful.

I deserve credit for...

  • Writing useful articles about software development 👩‍💻
  • Running in-person trainings for my colleagues and helping to share the knowledge 👩‍🏫
  • Launching 2 own projects 🥳

I hope to see my tech community...

To become diverse and inclusive.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jcsvveiga profile image
João Veiga