DEV Community

Igor Irianto
Igor Irianto

Posted on

How do you exercise? 💪

As coders, I am curious to see what you all's exercise regime looks like.

It would be awesome to hear:

  1. What workouts do you do?
  2. How many days each week and how many hours a day do you exercise?
  3. Bonus: (if you have one) do you have fitness inspiration(s)?

Mine:

  1. I do bodyweight workout at home because I don't have time to visit commercial gym. My only equipment is a pull-up bar. I do variations of pushups, pull-ups, squats, and different core exercises.

  2. I do 6 days a week. I take a break 1 day each week (Sunday) for recovery where I would do light stretching. I do half workout in the morning before work and another half in the evening after work.

  3. I have several:

    • Herschel Walker. He was the reason I started calisthenics. This guy is just very good doing everything physical: football, bobsleigh, martial arts, he's done them all. He's famous for doing 2000-3000 pushups every day. 💪
    • Many super-athletes from instagram. They are too numerous to list here. I like following street-workouts and circus performers.

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
buphmin profile image
buphmin

I go to the gym a few times a week and lift weights. I do a full body workout because that is what works for me and keeps me from getting bored. I probably should do cardio more but alas. My goals are pretty simple: general health and strength. If I could choose one exercise it would be the deadlift since it uses the majority of your body at once. Every now and then I'll also put in some boxing exercises.

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

Deadlift is great. One of the best compound exercises ever!

I heard you can get away doing nothing but deadlifts, squats, and benches.

Collapse
 
buphmin profile image
buphmin

Yeah there are lots of ways to be healthy. In general if you can run a mile (1.6 KM) without stopping, do 5 pull ups, and 20 push ups you are doing ok in general fitness. These are somewhat arbitrary values but to me they are a nice starting point for the vast majority of people.

Collapse
 
arjunkomath profile image
Arjun Komath

What workouts do you do?

  • Run, not a lot, I mostly do 3K runs.
  • High intensity interval training, there are plenty of videos on YouTube.

How many days each week and how many hours a day do you exercise?

  • Everyday 30 - 45 mins.

Bonus: (if you have one) do you have fitness inspiration(s)?

  • Compete with friends on Apple Activity app. Keeps me pumped 😄
Collapse
 
phm200 profile image
Peter Miller

I do 4-5 classes a week at my local Orangetheory fitness. I try to go Saturday and Sunday and then a few days during the week. The classes are a focused hour of effort and I like working out in a group. Keeps me sharp and feeling good.

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

Nice! I heard about orange theory first time 2 years ago. In your opinion, how are they different from CrossFit?

Collapse
 
phm200 profile image
Peter Miller

From what I hear, less intense, broader range of levels of fitness.

Collapse
 
jeffthorsen777 profile image
Jeff Thorsen • Edited

I work out in the gym every day. It all depends on the required load on certain muscles. Weightlifting is an unusual sport. Therefore, you need the right approach, nutrition and willpower. That’s why I take my training seriously: starting from the day program to the Men's Workout T-Shirts for workouts. Sport does not like the lazy. So I take him pretty seriously.

Collapse
 
scriptmunkee profile image
Ken Simeon

I go a to a local gym thats close to my office. I try to get in there 4 to 5 days a week. The gym I go to provides multiple classes throughout the day. I typically attend the noon class, but if that doesn't work out I go to the 5 PM class.

The workouts take an hour. There are typically three components to the workout (not including the warm up).

0. Warm up

  • We have a rotating warm up routine and then a section specific muscle stretching focused on muscles groups we used the previous day.

1. Movement

  • This is usually a combination of extended stretching or resistance work in order to active the muscles and joints that will be used later in the workout.

2. Strength

  • This section will be any of the following; Dead Lifts, Strict Press, Push Press, Back Squats, Front Squats

3. Cardio / Conditioning

  • This third section is usually a High Intensity workout that involves combinations of body weight, actual weights (kettle bells, dumb bells, straight bar, etc), jump ropes, bikes, runner or more.

Here is Today's Workout.

Today's Workout

My goals has been to lose weight, gain expanded movement of my body (bad knees), reduce chronic pain from hours of keyboard jockeying and to gain overall strength. I really like the gym I attend because they treat every member like they do their professional athletes they train and treat. Very personal and filled with encouragement.

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

Thanks for sharing! I liked how detailed it is - moreover the WOD is nice!! 👍 I (and hopefully others) can learn something from it.

Collapse
 
patricnox profile image
PatricNox

I'm stretching time by time to prevent myself from going stiff.

Other than that, intensive table tennis once a week for 1.5 hours.

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

Haha nice. Good cardio! We have table tennis at work. Everyday it is almost always packed... and mildly smell like gym locker room...

Collapse
 
captainawesomedi profile image
Di Wu

Thank you for sharing yours, curious how other developers does it. My big goal this year is to be healthy. Improve my physical conditions. Done being a couch potato developer. lol

Collapse
 
iggredible profile image
Igor Irianto

Agreed. It is hard when our job, by nature, is sedentary!

Collapse
 
catchase profile image
Catchase

I used to go to the gym before the quarantine, but now I think online training will be better decision.