DEV Community

IraiaBB
IraiaBB

Posted on

Typical salary question when applying a job offer

Hi, everyone! I already finished my programming vocational education and I'm looking for my first job. At the same time, I'm taking courses and reading books to increase my knowledge. But, when applying to an offer they always ask you which are your salary expectations, and I have no idea what to say to make a good impression. What type of answer do you use? A range of numbers or something like "depending on my contribution"? In addition, if it's my first job I don't know what should I expect... Hope someone can share some wisdom, thaks a lot!
PD. : i'm native spanish speaker, in case you see something weird

Top comments (7)

Collapse
 
mxldevs profile image
MxL Devs

Say something higher than what you're looking for (which can be based on industry average, what the average at the company is, etc) and if they give like a weird look, negotiate down to make it seem like you're willing to take a lower pay to get the opportunity to work there LOL

Collapse
 
colinmtech profile image
Colin Morgan

It sometimes feels a little old school, but I try my best to toss the ball back to them. So I'll say something along the lines of:

It depends on the total compensation offer, but I'm willing to negotiate. Does the position have a defined salary range?

These days I'm a manager so the curtain has been pulled back a little for me. What I've learned is that most positions have a strict salary range. It's your goal to figure out what that salary range is and then try to get the highest number from it. Good luck!

Collapse
 
iraiabb profile image
IraiaBB

Yeah, I guess in that way the see that you are very confident with yourself. That's something recruiters like...

Collapse
 
brandinchiu profile image
Brandin Chiu

The best thing you can do is research what the average salary offerings are for companies in your area.

Services like glassdoor.com and others can help fill these gaps.

Your estimate when you answer this question should be relative to that number. The number will vary a lot from city to city, country to country.

Another really helpful thing you can do is turn the question back on the interviewer in a constructive way.

When they ask you: "what are your salary expectations?",

ask them:

"how competative are your salaries? What would you normally pay this position to someone with my experience level?"

This is always a hard question, and there isn't an easy answer. You will continue to get better at estimating your own worth as you work. How you approach that will change as well.

Collapse
 
iraiabb profile image
IraiaBB

Thanks! yes i guess i will learn how to handle these kind of questions when i get more experience😊

Collapse
 
edimeri profile image
Erkand Imeri • Edited

You say the reasonable answer, the average salary in the region, do your homework, check the average range for Junior/Intern Software Developer and say it straightly.

Good luck!

Collapse
 
iraiabb profile image
IraiaBB

Thanks, another thing on the to do list: do a good research about salary💪