DEV Community

irenejoeunpark
irenejoeunpark

Posted on • Updated on

Working with Git Remotes

Adding new feature to other project

I chose one of the javascript project to work on, and I was having little to no knowledge on javascript, which made the lab extremely tough for me - but I think this is the sake of working with other projects in other language, which I can learn. I added configuration feature to pass a config file in json format.
I added a feature to update the language, input, output, and stylesheet configuration as the user's custom configuration.
T

By using

-c( or --config) *filename* 
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

it would update the configuration.

Here is the changes that I made. https://github.com/Kevan-Y/text-ssg/pull/23/files
Also in the PR, there were back and forth communication with Kevan, he gave me feedbacks and I updated.
https://github.com/Kevan-Y/text-ssg/pull/23
Learning new language and frameworks are always exciting.

Merging other's repo with command line

I had some issue with the process of merging the pull request.
At first, I forgot that I had to use commands, and merged the project manually in github as usual. I realized I manually merged it, and had to revert the commit. I added Leyang's remote repo in my local repo using git bash. However I was not able to merge Leyang's repo without a pull request opened.
Since I am not authorized to create PR from Leyang's repo, I had to revert the reverted PR. I was able to finally work with the git command to merge the PR, but since the branch was created within my repo (because of the revert), I was only able to experience part of the learning through this lab.
Original PR created by Leyang is https://github.com/irenejoeunpark/ssgApplication/pull/19
You are welcomed to look at our collaboration works.

Top comments (0)