DEV Community

David Gil de Gómez
David Gil de Gómez

Posted on

STUMGE, a mix of engine and virtual console for game development on the web with an old school flavor.

I have been working on and off on this for a while, and I think that now it is starting to be the time to present it to the world. My goal was to bring some sort of old school game development experience to the web, in an accessible way.

It works on the canvas, with steady 60FPS, and borrows the aesthetics from the Nintendo Gameboy. There are couple examples on the repository and a complete game that you can see on http://games.studiosi.es/efs/ built on the engine (please do not look at the source code, it is very bad). The engine is under MIT license.

I am currently finishing a video tutorial that will be up on Youtube. I will appreciate comments and participation! I am also open to host your games on my server if you don't have the means to do so, just contact me!

The code: https://github.com/studiosi/stumge

Top comments (0)