DEV Community

Ivan Klimchuk
Ivan Klimchuk

Posted on • Originally published at klimchuk.dev on

Change the place to refresh your mind

Change the place to refresh your mind

This time I want to share some tips that I read in the book “Atomic Habits” written by James Clear. It is not about productivity itself, but it is still very useful.

Our habits often rely on the places where we used to do something. When we visit these locations, we activate certain habits. We don't even think about it. It just happens, like a pattern. It means that if we used to start working days with a cup of coffee and reading the news, changing this behavior just because we have a desire is almost impossible. We need to break the usual behavioral loop.

My example. I’ve tried to read a paper book before work many times. I used to use the same pattern. Every day I usually make a cup of coffee, sit down in my chair, and… start checking emails, Twitter, updating my code environment, and other stuff. When did I remember about the book that was right in front of me? Correct, after around 1 hour. I wasted that hour, to be honest. I did not work or read.

To solve it, I changed the place. I started reading near the sofa, sitting on the floor. It works well for me during the weekends as well, when I'm looking after my 8-month-old daughter. When she plays, I can read. At other times, I also go to the living room and read there. In the cabinet, I can only work with my laptop. Changing places clears our patterns, and it may help you concentrate on the task you would like to accomplish.

If you would like to do something that you could not start for a long time, try to change the place. It should be different from your usual working area. Try to change the room or just site in the room. It is necessary to break your usual patterns.

More from me

Subscribe to Ivan's Weekly Focus and get weekly updates about my indie-making journey, and tips, tools, and approaches, which help to be more productive.

Follow me on Twitter, LinkedIn, Medium, DEV, Indie Hackers, and Product Hunt.

Top comments (0)