DEV Community

Cover image for My indie-making journey begun
Ivan Klimchuk
Ivan Klimchuk

Posted on • Updated on

My indie-making journey begun

At the start of November, I started work on my English-speaking Twitter account. The goal was simple, to grow it. And during that activity, I found some interesting people. One such person was Thomas Sanlis, who created the website What is an Indie Maker? I translated it into Belarusian, as an open-source contribution, which I like to do every time. During that, I discovered, that there is a big community of interesting people — indie makers. They create their projects, make from them products, and sell them. That’s awesome! I thought.

It was impressive to see how many interesting projects people are building. I decided to jump in this boat as well. What got me hooked? People build their projects and make them profitable. And they use all their knowledge and experience that they have. It sounded too very close to my plans for the past 2022 year — to share more of my knowledge and experience. At least, after almost 18 years in software development, I have what to say.

Indie makers do a lot of activities. Not only applications or SaaS solutions. They create content, record videos, lessons, and podcasts, and create courses. Also, they write blogs and newsletters. I decided to start with something similar, but very basic — writing. Furthermore, I lack skill in writing in a foreign language, and it is a good reason to gain the skill.

I started the newsletter in the middle of November. Right after my meeting with the indie hackers community. Since that time I have learned a lot of things and examples. About how people build their projects and do marketing. How they collect customers and create their own audience to spread and sell products. It looks like startups, and it is true. With one exception. People do it from scratch alone.

To be, or even better to say to become an indie maker is interesting to me. Why? Because I already spend my free time building projects and sometimes products. It may be something for fun, other times it is open-source contributions (not only by code). I like the idea in general! One piece, which was missed, is a positive income. And indie making approach is a good way to turn products into a way of generating positive income. It should bring me closer to my main goal. I plan to reach financial independence before my 40th.

It was a natural decision, but I have 9-to-5 work, and I have a family with two kids. Seems, I can not be as fast as other makers, who left their jobs to focus on their projects only. It means that I have to learn how to use the time which I have. The skill that nobody can buy. Let’s see, how it will be going. The journey has begun.

More from me

Subscribe to Ivan's Weekly Focus and get weekly updates about my indie-making journey, and tips, tools, and approaches, which help to be more productive.

Follow me on Twitter to get daily updates about my progress.

Follow me on Medium to get weekly essay about personal growth.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
fyodorio profile image
Fyodor

Good luck man 👍 My strong advice would be, from what I see myself in indie-hackers community around, to focus on making and not on selling. Because people like makers and trust them, and are not favour intrusive sellers too much. Build something good, folks will buy it. But I'm pretty sure you know it yourself already so just don't ever loose motivation, and see you at the top of ProductHunt some day! 💪

Collapse
 
ivanklimchuk profile image
Ivan Klimchuk

Thank you. I agree. I would say that selling activity also important, but it works only if you have something to sell.