DEV Community

Cover image for Trustless, privacy preserving surveillance system with AI capabilities
Ivelin Ivanov
Ivelin Ivanov

Posted on

Trustless, privacy preserving surveillance system with AI capabilities

Are you holding back on installing home automation in your house, because it requires cloud account sign up and you are not quite sure what happens with your data that goes to the cloud?

I was hit by the same hesitation after I played with Ring, Nest, Arlo and a few other plug-and-play cloud camera systems. The AI capabilities makes them very attractive, but the fact that I have to use a cloud API to download video footage recorded by cameras in my own home, does not sit well with me.

Why can't I get access to my local video camera stream directly on my local network, get a private and secure notification to my mobile app. Look at the AI detected object, pet or a person and make an informed decision what to do next? That should be possible without trusting a man-in-the-middle system to see, but not look at my data, right?

Absolutely! When I asked the question first a few months ago, it was not that obvious, but after a bit of tinkering it all worked out just as expected. The result is now available for everyone else who wants a trustless, privacy preserving surveillance system with AI capabilities. Check it out: https://github.com/ambianic

There is a 5 minute quick start guide to get you going, if you don't have time to browse the code now.

And if you'd like to read more how it works, follow this link:
https://blog.ambianic.ai/2020/02/05/pnp.html

Top comments (0)