DEV Community

Jacob Stern
Jacob Stern

Posted on • Updated on

Day 15 / 100 Days of Code

Mon, July 15, 2024

Today was a celebration of Flexbox and all of it's wonderfullness!

Flexbox is far more modern than legacy HTML and CSS, making it more complex, elegant, and full of not only amazing options, but subtle distinctions. In this way, Flexbox is a perfect transition into Responsive Design. I spent the bulk of today getting to know my new friend, Flexbox.

While I don't have a shadow or pair programmer--although I do have a mentor, I've found Microsoft's Copilot AI is willing and adept at answering code questions, and friendly. Copilot also has access to search engine, and automatically replies in parallel with Bing search results if allowed, so if search results aren't getting it done, Copilot can often crushes it! It's of course fallible, so you want to verify, but that's the point of learning, so winner-winner.

Image description

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
solidwire1 profile image
Don Jude

Sweet... Copilot is alright once I figured out how to interact effectively with it
yet
Perplexity.ai
has enhanced my productivity & maybe more important - I actually learn WHY in the same time it took me to verify Copilot.
Perplexity also combines generative AI with search...
Your choice from 4 AI engines & search engine, with a delivery & layout that actually makes sense...
Let me know what you all think if you choose to try it...

Collapse
 
jacobsternx profile image
Jacob Stern • Edited

I've seen posts that AI has changed some people's learning process, and reviews that Perplexity excels at melding AI with search. Perplexity's delivery and layout is very effective, with organization, reasoning, and follow on, while Copilot is more conversational. In the past, I've tried some AI coding extensions like Codeium, which generate unit tests, find bugs, and explain code, although currently I'm learning enough that my questions are less advanced. I've not yet had the chance to experiment with AI engine settings, but I've configured Perplexity as a Chrome search engine, so I'll use Perplexity more and see how it goes. Thanks for the suggestions!