DEV Community

Jacob Stern
Jacob Stern

Posted on • Updated on

Day 38 / 100 Days of Code: Progress on the Full-Stack Engineer Path

Wed, August 7, 2024

Today, I embarked on the second Codecademy course in the Full-Stack Engineer path: Building Interactive Sites. This course primarily focuses on JavaScript I. The upcoming courses in this path are Front End Development, Back End Development, and finally, Full Stack Development.

In addition to starting this new course, I’m still refining my code from the previous project. It’s amazing how many small details need attention even after completing a section.

I’m also receiving a plethora of coding ideas from AI, which is fantastic but a bit overwhelming. To manage this influx of information, I need to plan better and break down these ideas into smaller, manageable tasks to keep my learning process smooth and continuous.

While having too much information is a good problem to have, it still requires careful management. I’m accelerating my learning pace and aiming to increase it even more.

Image description

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
ofameh profile image
ofameh

Hello mate
Please can you drop a link to the codeacademy course

Collapse
 
jacobsternx profile image
Jacob Stern • Edited

Absolutely!

Codecademy has a freemium business model, Basic (free), Plus, and Pro. There is a free trial for paid membership levels, and right now I'm seeing annual price is 25% off, although I've seen 50% off around holidays and Black Friday. Their pricing table provides details.
codecademy.com/pricing

You'll need a Codecademy login (free) to see the courses and certifications ("Career paths"), but you can sign-up with Google, Facebook, LinkedIn, GitHub, Twitter, or Apple accounts. There are a lot of courses!
codecademy.com/catalog
Scroll down and select Free, Paid, Career path, time to complete, or skill level to filters results. There are 12 Career paths, including Full-Stack Engineer

For me, learning environment, content, and testing, along with reputation, were my decision factors, and I'm glad I went for the Pro plan, as they use the same career services provider as my university--Handshake. The main complaint I've read is that Codecademy course content access depends on your membership level, so if my paid membership lapses, I lose access to all non-free course content, even courses I've completed.

Image description

Collapse
 
ofameh profile image
ofameh

Thanks a lot

Thread Thread
 
jacobsternx profile image
Jacob Stern

Of course!