DEV Community

Cover image for Is parcel more effective than webpack?
Jasmin Virdi
Jasmin Virdi

Posted on

Is parcel more effective than webpack?

I have started using parcel in my projects and found it easy to set up and super fast as compared to webpack. Let me know thoughts!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

When I want to run something basic (a index.html with few CSS and JS files) I always prefer Parcel but after one point if you want to customize its default behavior it can get difficult.

Webpack is well accepted in the community so it has a lot of cool plugins and extensions and better support for issues so for something large I prefer webpack.

Collapse
 
jasmin profile image
Jasmin Virdi

Webpack offers a lot of features that make it the first choice for large projects. Along with that, it is easy to set up and customize. 😄

Collapse
 
patarapolw profile image
Pacharapol Withayasakpunt

BTW, I find Parcel.js hard to customize...

Collapse
 
jasmin profile image
Jasmin Virdi

Yes, it works great with small projects. It also has less community support.
I'll check Rollup. 😄