DEV Community

Cover image for My Journey with Hacktoberfest 2021 ! πŸŽ‰
Jayendran Arumugam
Jayendran Arumugam

Posted on • Updated on

My Journey with Hacktoberfest 2021 ! πŸŽ‰

2020 Journey

So, this is my second Hacktoberfest participation. On 2020 I participated for the first time and it was a great experience towards Open source platforms.

2020 Hacktoberfest

Dev badge

With the same thrill, here I almost completed my 2021 hacktoberfest 😍 - Just waiting for standard 14 days review waiting period to get over.

2021 Story so far

Before October I did my first contribution to azure terraform

GitHub logo hashicorp / terraform-provider-azurerm

Terraform provider for Azure Resource Manager

Terraform logo

Terraform Provider for Azure (Resource Manager)

The AzureRM Terraform Provider allows managing resources within Azure Resource Manager.

When using version 3.0 of the AzureRM Provider we recommend using Terraform 1.x (the latest version can be found here). Whilst older versions of Terraform Core (0.12.x and later) remain compatible with v3.0 of the AzureRM Provider - support for versions prior to 1.0 will be removed in the next major release of the AzureRM Provider (v4.0).

Usage Example

# 1. Specify the version of the AzureRM Provider to use
terraform {
  required_providers {
    azurerm = {
      source = "hashicorp/azurerm"
      version = "=3.0.1"
    }
  }
}
# 2. Configure the AzureRM Provider
provider "azurerm" {
  # The AzureRM Provider supports authenticating using via the Azure CLI, a Managed
…
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

which made me a special impression towards their community members and maintainers. So, I thought of using this hacktoberfest opportunity to contribute more to azure terraform.

Unfortunately my knowledge with Go language is not that goodπŸ˜• But I don’t want that to stop my interest towards contribution. So, I went to their issues and start searching for the good first issues and documentation labels.

Then I started fixing the issues by raising a couple of small PRs, which was merged quickly πŸŽ‰. Then I found a great step-back 😱, unfortunately azure terraform repo is not participated in the Hacktoberfest event πŸ˜”. But the maintainers helped me to get my PR's eligible for Hacktoberfest πŸ€—. See the community love β™₯

Terraform Slack Channel

This motivates me to complete my final 2 PR's 😍

Terraform Slack Channel2

Here is my 4 simple PR's which fixes 4 simple existing issues

One of the interesting fact is I'm the only one who complete 4 PR's that were labeled hacktoberfest-accepted on the terraform-provider-azurerm project 😁

hacktoberfest-accepted label

With all this I got the official mail of completion πŸŽ‰

Completion

progress


Final Completion πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Final Completion

Swags 🀩

prizes

Get your limited edition Hacktoberfest 2021 Badge

Dev Post

Top comments (0)