DEV Community

John Colagioia (he/him)
John Colagioia (he/him)

Posted on

Board Game Library Options?

I've been toying with a couple of board game ideas--more Monopoly than Settlers of Catan or chess--in my spare time and would like to throw together an implementation to play online. Is anybody aware of a decent library (for pretty much any language; I'll fiddle with something new for a project like this) that helps with the layout and general management of components? I've been superficially searching, but haven't found much more.
Obviously, it's not much more complicated to create an HTML table with images and draggable-and-droppable components but I'd rather build on tested code and get to the point, if possible.
Thanks!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
clairec profile image
Claire Collins
Collapse
 
jcolag profile image
John Colagioia (he/him)

Boardgame.io looks like it might work. Now I just need to get through an example to see if it's easier to use than doing the work directly. Thanks!