DEV Community

Cover image for Back to Basics...
jdesola
jdesola

Posted on

Back to Basics...

This is a short one..

So as I sit here, late on a Saturday night working on my side project, I realized how important the basics are. Now to be fair, this is something I think about often: in Taekwondo, in cooking, in guitar, in singing, and now in coding. I'm reminded at how often I've practiced the basics in Taekwondo. I'm a Third Degree Black belt and there are plenty of times where I practice things I learned as an early student, because it helps.

Where am I going with this?

I've been struggling over the last few weeks to really get started on my side project for a few reasons:

  • It is kind of a daunting project: I'm redesigning not only my taekwondo school's front-end for the check-in system, but I'm also redesigning the database structure and a new student portal.
  • I have had literally tons of ideas on how I want this to go, but they get lost and I overcomplicate things.
  • I've been jumping too far ahead and designing phase 2, 3 etc. features. Rather than sticking to the basics and just designing phase 1.

I was talking with a friend today who is interested in being a DBA and when I sat down to log our notes, I realized how much I've jumped the gun, so instead of taking down our notes verbatim, I'm writing up all the entities that we need to be concerned with in the database. Once I have that I can really get going.

So all of that to say, don't forget the basics. Sometimes you just need a whiteboard or a Google doc before you worry about how everything is going to fully work.

Top comments (0)