DEV Community

Jenna
Jenna

Posted on

Discussion: What makes good Content on DEV Community? πŸš€πŸŒŸ

Hello fellow dev,

I hope you are all doing great.

I've been wondering πŸ€” what makes a post beneficial to the DEV community.

There are many great posts out here, but I've noticed a mix of quality.

For example; incomplete posts, some relevant ones contain grammar and punctuation mistakes, while others seem unrelated to this platform.

I acknowledge the tag for off-topic subjects, but I've noticed that some posts lack it.

How can we continuously ensure high-quality content and provide valuable experiences for everyone?

Some points to consider:

  • What makes a post valuable and informative for you as a developer?
  • What criteria would you use to evaluate a post's quality (low or high) and relevance to the community?
  • How important are clarity, accuracy, and usefulness when reading content?
  • Have you noticed any posts that seem irrelevant or contain grammar and punctuation errors? How do these affect your experience?
  • What are other points that you have noticed, good or bad?

I look forward to your thoughts and feedback in the comment section below! πŸ’¬ πŸ™‚

I wish you all a happy weekend ahead. 🌞

Disclaimer:
I am not an expert and am new to writing and contributing to this community. I aim to share, learn, and grow together while promoting better contributions. If you have any concerns about the relevance or duplication of my posts, please notify me.

Please note that this post aims to improve the community experience and is not directed at any specific individual.

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*Β°β€’.β˜†

This is an excellent question! ✨ As an active post publisher on here, I am wondering about the same thing!

Welcome to DEV by the way! πŸ˜ƒ

Collapse
 
jennavisions profile image
Jenna

Thank you, Anita, for the welcome 😊

That's great.

My thoughts:
The value of the content might be determined by the readers, depending on their level. For instance, a junior might see more value in a certain post than a more experienced one.

It depends on who our target audience is when writing an article.

Also, having constructive feedback is valuableβ€”a good way to improve.

Some other criteria to consider include the relevance of the article, clarity, how to keep your audience engaged, and the value it brings to the readers.

It has not been long since I joined the community and decided to start writing.

It would be great to hear others' thoughts on these questions.