DEV Community

Cover image for My Productivity Tools as a Software Engineer
Jethro Lorenzo Garcia Lising
Jethro Lorenzo Garcia Lising

Posted on

My Productivity Tools as a Software Engineer

Staying organized is hard. As a software engineer, writing code is probably 1/4th of the battle. You have to stay on top of your knowledge for long-term storage. You need to keep a Dev journal to record your insights. You need an interstitial journal to reflect and switch contexts mindfully. You need a way to securely and privately track your time spent on projects and to track future-events and meetings.

This is why I delegate my second brain (long-term) into different apps that handle one and only thing.

These are the tools I use to manage my projects and my life. They are mostly found in the Apple ecosystem, but alternatives are listed below.

Bear: for knowledge-base

Agenda: date-focused working notes with a project context

Trello: project and life management

  • Trello
  • A kanban (signboard, in Japanese)
  • Visualize work
  • Limiting work in progress
  • Follow Personal Kanban for how to manage life
  • Follow Agile methodology to manage projects

Standard Notes: secure raw notes

Note: Yes Joplin can replace Standard Notes, Agenda, and Bear.

Apple Calendar: appointments and time-blocked events

  • Speaks for itself.
  • Alternative: Google Calendar

Apple Reminders: one-time and recurring reminders

  • For recurring reminders (“Take Out Recycling for collection”, “Wash bedsheets”)
  • Also good for one-off reminders
  • Integrates with Agenda
  • Alternative: Google Tasks

Timewarrior: time-tracking

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
zoebourque profile image
zoebourque

Amazing! Interested in trying Timewarrior soon. For project management software, I used to be a Trello user, but it wasn't right for me. Now, I switched to Quire. If you've never heard of Quire, you can try to see if you like it! I really like their nested task list and Peekaboo feature to hide the tasks.

Collapse
 
johannesjo profile image
Johannes Millan

My recommendation for task management and time tracking if needed:
github.com/johannesjo/super-produc...

Collapse
 
jethrolising profile image
Jethro Lorenzo Garcia Lising

Nice app! I'm gonna have to test this out see if it fits my use-case. Thanks!

Collapse
 
johannesjo profile image
Johannes Millan

Please let me know what you think! :)

Collapse
 
didin1453fatih profile image
Didin 👨‍💻

I think you can add dbdesigner.id for your productivity tool.
This is database designer. This app is web base.

Collapse
 
jethrolising profile image
Jethro Lorenzo Garcia Lising

This is interesting, I will check it out if I have any database work

Collapse
 
didin1453fatih profile image
Didin 👨‍💻

I hope you are helped with this..

Collapse
 
farhanaxmustafa profile image
Farhana

Great article! I haven't heard of Interstitial Journaling before. For my personal notes, I started using notion.so

Collapse
 
jethrolising profile image
Jethro Lorenzo Garcia Lising

Notion is great! I've been playing with it recently and It's nice that you can share pages very easily

Collapse
 
spez profile image
Abhigyan

Evernote = 💰💸💰
Microsoft OneNote = 🆓👍🆓