DEV Community

Cover image for Week one at Task-force
James Nyagatare
James Nyagatare

Posted on • Updated on

Week one at Task-force

Greetings,

It's been a week at the task-force with Awesomity Lab and Code Of Africa. I learned a lot of valuable things with them and in this blog post I will be sharing the lessons I gained. I believe some days will remind me there were some days I didn't know things and it will motivate my eagerness towards things even bigger.

For the first day I was excited and curious about meeting new people and the team I was selected with, it was a really good experience to meet the guys. Later in that morning I learned a lot about my personal values, team values and code of Africa values together with Axel Kuhlmann. I understood for a team to be successful it needs to be having common values. In the afternoon I had an interesting session with Yannick and Sam working us through the git workflow We will be using at awesomity lab.

Day two was more technical. I did a number of algorithms and data structures, the exercise actually boosted my thinking capability towards solving a challenge. As a developer I understood I have to be looking at all perspectives that may crash the app I am developing and think about the efficient and effective solution.

Day three was about communication in general. It was really interesting because I believe communication is crucial in our day to day life. In the morning we got a chance to be reminded what communication is and how we can improve our communication skills with Hans Stoisser. In the afternoon Anja Schlösser gave us an interesting session about preparation and presentation. Later on we got a chance to present, I believe my presentation skills will improve as I do a lot of practices.

Day four and day five were educational, because I learnt about writing understandable clean codes with code-wars challenges and how I can containerize my app. I also understood that teamwork is key to success.

First week was both interesting and educational, I believe the boot-camp will boost both my skills and experience in software engineering career and day to day life.

Top comments (0)