DEV Community

JJ Asghar
JJ Asghar

Posted on • Originally published at jjasghar.github.io on

How to update to the newest release of Fedora

The Fedora community just released Fedora 33 the other day. I’ve been running Fedora 32 for a while, on both servers and my laptop, and loved every minute of it. Needless to say as soon as I heard that 33 came out I needed upgrade to it. There’s a handful of pages and howto’s out there, but for my own sanity I’m capturing this here.

This is also how to fully upgrade your release, so this will work in the future

sudo su - # yes you need to be root
dnf upgrade --refresh
dnf install dnf-plugin-system-upgrade
dnf system-upgrade download --releasever=33 # put 'next' version here
dnf system-upgrade reboot # this reboot can take a while
cat /etc/redhat-release # confirm your update!

Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

And that’s it! Pretty straight forward, and from some statements from friends, you should go one release at a time, so don’t jump from Fedora 30 to 33, go 30 to 31 to 32 to 33.

Top comments (0)