DEV Community

Cover image for Making Python3 default in Ubuntu
John Johnson Okah
John Johnson Okah

Posted on

Making Python3 default in Ubuntu

I came into the python world at 2017, and ever since then, I have never thought of using Python2. Now in 2020, I just updated my OS to Ubuntu 20.04 and I have no idea what python2 is doing on my terminal, talkless of even being the default.

Alt Text


But this is how I made python3 my default:

📌 First I typed gedit ~/.bashrc on my terminal to open the .bashrc file on my text editor.

$ gedit ~/.bashrc
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

📌 And then I added
alias python=python3
to the top of the .bashrc file and saved it.

That was it. 🚀🚀

Alt Text

What this means is that whenever I write python on my terminal, it sees it as python3

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
jjokah profile image
John Johnson Okah

I re-installed a fresh ubuntu22.04 on my computer and I had same problem. Then I came back to this post. Thanks past self.