DEV Community

John Karr
John Karr

Posted on

Need help with iOS accessibility focus

I'm trying to write an application exclusively with React Native and have no native modules. For the most part, it has worked but I have hit multiple hurdles when it comes to the accessibility on the iOS side.

I want to maintain accessibility focus on an element that is constantly changing. I do maintain the focus, but the accessibility label does not update fast enough for what I want to do. For example, let's say I have a element I change it to the letter 'a'. I want the accessibility label to say 'a' when VoiceOver is on which it does for the first letter but anything after that it does not change unless the element loses accessibility focus and I refocus it. So if I change the letter to 'b' VoiceOver still says 'a'.

Is there any way for me to refresh the accessibility focus when I update what letter is displayed in the element?

Top comments (0)