DEV Community

Joel Lau
Joel Lau

Posted on

Template strings in documentation?

I'm looking into doing more writing and documentation and one of the biggest problems I'm facing is keeping certain pieces of information up to date.

For example, I named Chapter 2: Usage, referred to it a few times, and decided that I would like to change the title to Chapter 2: Tutorial .

Are there any existing solutions that would allow me to store these values somewhere as a single source of truth ?

Top comments (5)

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

What language are you using?

Collapse
 
joellau profile image
Joel Lau

as of now, just github flavoured markdown and html (different projects). but i'm open to anything at this point

Collapse
 
devdrake0 profile image
Si

How about using Jekyll templates with liquid ?

Thread Thread
 
joellau profile image
Joel Lau

this was what I was looking for, thanks!

Collapse
 
joellau profile image
Joel Lau

I'm also considering using sphinx / restructuredText as they support more features (substitutions, tags, citations)