DEV Community

Cover image for I Built A SaaS Directory That Uses AI To Recommend Tools
ツ John
ツ John

Posted on

I Built A SaaS Directory That Uses AI To Recommend Tools

So I've always wanted to randomly build a tool directory for some reason.

They're usually pretty light in terms of tech requirements, and it's something completely different compared to what I've done with past projects.

I was sick a few weeks ago and decided to use my downtime to work on one.

There are a lot of these types of directories out there, so I wanted to try and figure out how to make mine stand out a little more.

What better way to do it than with AI? LOL

A problem I've heard and noticed when it comes to these directories is that there's simply too much to sift through. I've come across the same problem myself.

So I decided to sprinkle in a little AI. Basically, you describe a problem you're having and we'll recommend some tools that we think could help in some way or another.

findcool.tools ToolFinder Ai

The majority of tools are submitted by the community. They usually come from places like Twitter or Reddit. Then I manually review them to ensure everything looks good before pushing to the site, which is findcool.tools

Even though this was just a fun random project I wanted to start, I decided to launch it on Product Hunt. Much to my surprise, we received #3 Product of the Day.

findcool.tools product hunt award badge

Since then, I've been putting a little more time into it. We're almost at 150 tools submitted and over 150 newsletter subscribers.

Here's the tech stack I'm using for anyone interested:

  • Astro for the frontend
  • Google Sheets for my database
  • Google Forms for new tool submissions

Told you I was keeping the tech stack light... haha

All in all, this is turning into a fun project and I just wanted to spread the word that if you have a random idea, pursue it. You never know what will come out of it.

Thanks for taking the time to read this. You can find me over on Twitter/X

Have a tool you think would be a good fit for findcool.tools? You can submit it here.

❤️

Top comments (0)