DEV Community

JonathanLearnsTech
JonathanLearnsTech

Posted on

Why I'm Learning Python in 2021

So a new year means a new me.For a couple of months I was a computer repair and refurbishment technician. Don't let the title fool you, my job duties mostly entailed replacing hard-drive, ram and operating systems. Though I was greatful for an opportunity to work with tech, there would be no long term career in a warehousing position.

Fortunately during this internship,I was given an opportunity to learn and prepare for Google's Associate Cloud Engineer Certification. As of writing I've completed the "Architecting with Google Cloud Platform" specialization and scheduled my certification exam for March 26th, 2021. During that time, I'll be doing practice questions ,reading the study guide and completing guided projects through Coursera Plus.

Since automation scripting is one of the skills I'm supposed to have as Cloud Engineer, now seems like an excellent time to pick up Python again. While industries are preparing for a no-code future, it is still essential to learn core programming concepts.

I've taken the intiative by enrolling in "Google's IT Automation with Python" professional certificate. This course will also complement the Google's IT Support Professional specialzation that I completed in 2018.

With the IT Support Dual accreditation, Associate Cloud Engineer certification and Python Automation certification; it is my hope that I turn what I've in these course as degree equivalent experience. As a person from an underserved demographic, this provides me with an alternative route to a fufilling career without the extra financial and social strain of institutionalized learning.

I'm spending this weekend going through the first course of the specialzation, "Crash Course Python". As I work through each course, I'll write about my experiences while balancing my new job as a Desktop Support Technician. I can't wait to share what I've learned.

Thanks for reading

Top comments (0)