DEV Community

Joshua Amaju
Joshua Amaju

Posted on

DEV's Home Feed: A Hot Mess

The DEV home feed got a new look a while back. It used to be a simple list of posts with a title and a preview. But now, it's all about the highlighted comments.

At first, I thought this was a great idea. It's always helpful to see what other people are saying about a post. But after a while, I started to notice that the highlighted comments were making it harder to find the content I was actually interested in.

Now, when I go to the DEV home page, I'm bombarded with highlighted comments. It's like they're screaming at me, "HEY! READ ME!" It's so distracting that I can barely focus on or find actual posts.

I'm not the only one who feels this way. I've seen a lot of people complaining about the home feed. Some people have even said that it has pushed them away from DEV altogether.

I'm not sure what DEV was thinking with this design. It seems like they were trying to make the home page more engaging, but they actually ended up doing the opposite. They've made it harder for people to find the content they're looking for.

I hope DEV will reconsider this design change. The old home page was simple and effective. It didn't need to be flashy or complicated. It just needed to be easy to use.

What do you think of the DEV home feed? Do you like it? Or do you hate it? Let me know in the comments below.

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
lnahrf profile image
Lev Nahar

I actually like it, it helps me get a glimpse of the discussion without actually clicking on the post. I don't think it's distracting at all.