DEV Community

Cover image for 2019 Goals — April Update
Joe Previte (he/him)
Joe Previte (he/him)

Posted on

2019 Goals — April Update

Last year, I wrote a monthly progress update on my goals. I'm doing the same thing for 2019. Previously, I wrote these articles on Medium. Now I'm switching over to dev.to 😄

Achievements

Here, I’ll share the goal followed by the related achievement of the month after the arrow.

Emotional

  • Focus on relationships that matter -> Spending time with friends/co-workers

I feel like this month I actually made progress towards this goal. I sometimes say yes or do things because I feel like I should rather than because I want to. This month, I spent more time with high school friends that are important to me and I also spend some time with my co-workers outside of work.

I hope to continue focusing on these important relationships rather than trying to please everyone.

Intellectual

  • Read 12 Books -> Finished "The Clean Coder" and "Accelerate: The Science of Lean Software and DevOps: Building and Scaling High Performing Technology Organizations"

One of my co-workers recommended "The Clean Coder" by Robert Cecil Martin and so I started it last month. It was a fantastic book! It made me realize what it means to be a "professional" developer and gave tips on how to work towards that in my career.

I also read "Accelerate...". I wasn't a huge fan. The research was interesting, but it felt more like an academic paper published inside a book. It merely validated my previous beliefs of how important things like CI/CD are in shipping software quickly.

  • Launch 2 Products on Product Hunt -> Lots of work on mentored.dev

April was a productive month for mentored.dev! I give some credit to the Pioneer Tournament I joined, which has forced some accountability on this project.

I hope to continue making progress and eventually, ship the first version this year.

Professional:

I had an absolute blast speaking at Magnoliajs in Jackson, Mississippi. It was my first in-person tech conference I was speaking at.

The experience taught me a lot. I realized:

1) how down-to-earth tech speakers are
2) jokes/humor can spice up talks more than enthusiasm

That being said, I hope to continue speaking at meetups/conferences and getting better at my delivery.

I had been holding onto this article for a while. I wrote it up for a friend maybe 6 months ago but never got around to publishing it. Instead, I was sharing it with people privately.

Now, it's published and ready to be shared with the community! 😄

That's all folks! Until next month!

[Photo by Stephen Walker on Unsplash]

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Hey Joe!

I think ya might've accidentally left off a bit of text here:

You've had an awesome month! This is great idea btw, loving the format of goal -> related monthly achievement ... cool article!

Collapse
 
jsjoeio profile image
Joe Previte (he/him)

Haha whoops! Sorry about this. Meant to finish that before publishing but overlooked it - thanks for catching that 😅

And thank you! I thought would be an easy way to share my goals with others. Glad you liked it!

Collapse
 
mark_nicol profile image
Mark Nicol

What a great idea. I love the way that you're not just sharing your goals but setting such a nice context for anyone reading.

Collapse
 
jsjoeio profile image
Joe Previte (he/him)

Thanks, Mark!

I try to assume no one has seen the other articles, so then if they find themselves here, they're not completely lost.

Collapse
 
pickleat profile image
Andy Pickle

Nice. Welcome to Dev.to

I should post my progress updates on here as well! Hold myself accountable to my goals.

Collapse
 
jsjoeio profile image
Joe Previte (he/him)

Thanks, Andy!

Yeah, it's worth a shot! Might help 😄