DEV Community

Jeff Hammack
Jeff Hammack

Posted on

Help im stuck

I've been self-studying software development for 3 years now and I feel like I have the basics but I'm stuck feeling scared to start anything as far as a project is concerned. I like game development and blockchain technology. It just all seems so complicated, and I can't seem to start.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
thiagomg profile image
Thiago Massari Guedes

My suggestion is: Start small.
Get a small project, such as a command line application and build to the end.
After you're done, start a new one, more complex and finish it.
And keep going, increasing the complexity until you feel comfortable doing other things.

The main goal is to avoid getting stuck in complexities that are non important and will block you from progress.

For instance, I wanted to learn Rust, so I wrote a few command line applications.
Then, I created my blog system to learn Rust - Texted. The first version sucked so much that I rewrote mostly from scratch.

If you start with something big, it's unlikely to get you anywhere.

I hope it helps.

Collapse
 
jth1903 profile image
Jeff Hammack

yes, this helps greatly thank you for breaking it down that way.

Collapse
 
legationpro profile image
Anze

Dont. Feel. Scared. Or overwhelmed. Dive into small concepts on game development. C#, C++, Rust and Java are good choices. Blockchain technology you might want to look into JavaScript, TypeScript and different domain-programming languages that power them. I was in the same boat as you; scared to go to production. You got this, partner 😉

Collapse
 
luca_luca_5bbbf995bead3fb profile image
Luca Luca

It may seem complicated at first sight, but the answer is dividing it into very small tasks and being consistent.

Fix one problem at a time, and little by little you will see how your project comes to life, and you will be happier than ever when something works.

Never give up, it’s not always going to be fun, but it’s life and it’s not better if you switch projects every 2 weeks.

Of course you are going to get stuck sometimes, but that’s when you learn, which is the best thing that can happen to you, learning. If you ever face a problem in a real world job, you will fix it more easily as you encountered it before. You will now have more experience, and face stuff you would never had before, and now you can show that off proudly in your portfolio.

Collapse
 
vbd profile image
Volker B. Duetsch

Maybe my notes can be of help: github.com/vbd/Fieldnotes/blob/mai...

Collapse
 
jth1903 profile image
Jeff Hammack

Thanks for the resource @vbd I will definitely be using this to my advantage