DEV Community

juanbosnic
juanbosnic

Posted on

Learning to code is easier now. Should older developers be afraid?

Context
I was born in 1988, and got my first PC at 10 years old.
Even though I grasped some programming concepts at 14, I later decided I was not good at maths, and therefore should choose a more design-oriented career (ended up building my career around multimedia and then graphic design). However while I got hired to design stuff, I really wanted to code said stuff - bring it to life! - and have been focusing on frontend development for the last 3 years.

Question
Do you think I am at a disadvantage against any person born after the year 2000, considering their energy, earlier access to the internet/information, and "digital-nativeness", who wants to be on my line of work too?

Slightly related bonus question
Is there an age you think a developer would seem less hirable?

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
juanbosnic profile image
juanbosnic

That reply had so much logic in it, it made my emotions take the week off.
Thank you!

As for maths, I can't tell if I disliked them because they seemed hard, or if they seemed hard because I disliked them. We would have to travel in time to ask myself from 15 years ago.