DEV Community

Juliano Pereira Lima
Juliano Pereira Lima

Posted on

Every developer is a potential writer

Alt Text

Cuneiform writing System created by the Sumerians around 3,500 BC

I like to think that just as the Sumerians in the ancient Mesopotamian civilization (present-day Iraq) revolutionized the way that society transmitted knowledge through the invention of writing, programmers are also revolutionizing writing almost like the scribes of our time.

With the inevitable insertion of technology in all areas of society, those who are programming are synthesizing in code the problems, solutions, desires, and limitations that we are experiencing.

Do you write? Have a blog? What about start writing now?

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
brandondasilva profile image
Brandon Da Silva

I started a bunch of blogs that always dipped off after a dozen posts. I think it was because I never fully believed in what I was writing about. After looking through this site and variety of posts and discussions, it’s really exciting to see something so tight-knit and engaging and all speaking a similar language.

I never really talked about dev in a blog before but seeing posts like this and from the countless others in this community has me inspired to start again!

Thank you for sharing this!!

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel • Edited

yes, now I started to sa, that I am a blogger. My first blog I setup still in school with blogger.com. As a student I started to rent a v-host and installed wordpress on it. With that page I had good intentions, but never passed 10 posts. Still, the only thing the page was iteresting for was for a hacker who deleted my site. good that I had a backup of my few posts. that maybe never anyone read,...

Then I started the blog again, with the static side generator Hexo. This blog I use until today. But there have also been time, like a year of not writing any pist. but now, when looking back, I have one or two posts a months.

The topics are mostly Javascrit, database, blockchain and some leadership. since a month or two I also share my posts here on dev. here much more people read my content. That is motivating even more to write the next post and think of
good content.

How do you keep your motivation for blogging up? by the way, my blog is at tnickel.de.

Collapse
 
julianogtz profile image
Juliano Pereira Lima

Hi Tobias. I've started reading your blog here and I really like it. Congratulations :D

I think the feedback about the content definitely is a great fuel to continue writing. I think is not about the number of views but about the engagement, the genuine one.

We need different approaches to teach about some subjects in technology and write about it it's a great chance to make the world better and make the education more democratic.