DEV Community

Bret emm
Bret emm

Posted on

How often do you use TypeScript?

How often do you use Typescript?
I’m starting to get into react native… expo. I haven’t actually used it in the 5 years I’ve been a developer

How often do you run into using it? Or mobile projects?

I mainly use Nextjs

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
fullstak profile image
Bram Hammer

We try to use typescript for every project.
Doesn't matter if it's nextJS, react (native) or whatever. Typescript is awesome

Collapse
 
justcode_27 profile image
Bret emm

Is it difficult to learn? So far, idk… it kinda seems annoying. I’ve heard some popular developers call it a hassle and don’t use it.

Collapse
 
baasmurdo profile image
BaasMurdo

I use it daily & have been using it for more than 5 years.
Not difficult to learn at all. Well, each person is different, but I picked it up very quickly.
It is very useful when working on a large project with a large team, as the type-safety (when used correctly) prevents a lot of misconceptions and bugs.

I would say definitely give it a fair chance to see if YOU like it or not, don't take what some other developer says as gospel.

Thread Thread
 
justcode_27 profile image
Bret emm

What’s a main difference to get used to? React Native only has TS boilerplates, that’s why I’m asking.

I’m getting hang of it, in a way. But I like to mainly use APIs instead of local passing data most of the time

Collapse
 
justcode_27 profile image
Bret emm

I’m asking because, the only “Templates” that are available from React/Expo, use Typescript. Why not JS?

Collapse
 
niorad profile image
Antonio Radovcic

From 9 to 5!
The typing helps a ton with refactoring and rewriting in general. So at work as consultant I would never go without TS.
For personal stuff I try to go without building and compiling, so usually no TS there.

Collapse
 
musabdev profile image
Musab

What is Javascript? ...I use Typescript. LoL

Collapse
 
ant1ne profile image
Antoine

All the time! The main advantage is that you get errors signaled directly in your IDE

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy 🎖️

Never