DEV Community

Cover image for What import alias would you like configured?
Justin Dwyer
Justin Dwyer

Posted on

What import alias would you like configured?

I'm building my personal website with Next.js and I came across this question after running yarn create next-app --typescript:

? What import alias would you like configured? › @/*

Screenshot of my terminal while going through the create-next-app wizard

I'm familiar with the concept of import aliases, but I didn't know how Next expected this question to be answered. Usually, I use multiple import aliases. I might use @styles, @components, @hooks, etc.

So I decided to experiment. I typed @components into the prompt, and I got this response back:

› Import alias must follow the pattern <prefix>/*

Got it. So then I tried @components/*, and my app was created. I checked my tsconfig.json (or jsconfig.json) and compared it to an app that used the default @/*.

// tsconfig.json with default (@/*)
{
  "compilerOptions": {
    ...
    "baseUrl": ".",
    "paths": {
      "@/*": ["./*"]
    }
  },
  ...
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
// tsconfig.json with test (@components/*)
{
  "compilerOptions": {
    ...
    "baseUrl": ".",
    "paths": {
      "@components/*": ["./*"]
    }
  },
  ...
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

What came out of the test is not what I wanted. In the past, I've used a pattern like this:

// tsconfig.json
{
  "compilerOptions": {
    ...
    "baseUrl": ".",
    "paths": {
      "@components/*": ["components/*"],
      "@styles/*": ["styles/*"],
      "@hooks/*": ["hooks/*"]
    }
  },
  ...
}
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Which allowed me to reference imports like this:

import Button from '@components/Button';
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

Using the default ("@/*": ["./*"]) provided by the Next.js setup wizard allows me to do the same thing without having to explicitly set each path in my tsconfig.json — I just need to add an extra / after the @ to my import path, like so:

import Button from '@/components/Button';
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode

This keeps my tsconfig.json from getting bloated and hard to maintain (compared to the pattern I used to use). Cool!

The only use case I can think of for modifying this default is if you are using an src/ folder.

Do you have a use case I'm not thinking of? Leave a comment if so!

Top comments (2)

Collapse
 
jangeroo profile image
Michael Jang

In case, like me, you don't like the look of the extra / (or having to change muscle memory to include it whenever tooling doesn't auto-add the import), you can also just modify the default from "@/*": [...] to "@*": [...]. This way you can keep writing @components/... instead of @/components/...

Collapse
 
suitec9 profile image
Gee

So can I create an import alias after installing a next.js app ? Nice and good piece of work is very helpful, thank you.